Yes. You. Yes. Dream.

You know how people say it is better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all? And how people respond to that saying, “Try it”?
Well here’s the deal. Been there. Done that.

I understand that love arrives exactly when love is supposed to and love leaves exactly when love must.

The hurt that is felt when the worst fears are surpassed is more than anything ever imaginable. But as scary as the future is, as indomitable greatness seems, we fly, running, screaming, saying we will not back down, we will not stand down without a fight.

And in realizing that time waits for noone, that it is in living each moment like the last, that I realize I can seize the truth, without waiting for any to catch up to me. Yes, I’ve been hurt. And yes, it has been meant, twisted and broken, the hope with which we have been living.

To you who broke me down, know that I will live with shattered dreams for the rest of my life. But to all of you who read this, know this. That the courage to stand by your dream even when everything else fails, that is what will define you.

Me? I’m mortal. Killable. Crushable. Beatable. Domitable.

But these dreams? They’ll live forever in the whispers of the night, in the forgotten wishes, in the dying fears and the undying hope. There will be more. There is.

And as much as I have to deal every day and night with the things that were once mine and now are broken, you, you should know I forgive you for all you did. Not because I understand or because I believe it is okay, but because you deserve happiness, and in believing that you do deserve it, both you and I will go forward.

I am no ordinary boy. I am who I am. I show the world difference. It’s why I exist.
But remember those words I said to you before I left?

|  “Are you upset little friend? Have you been lying awake worrying? Well, don’t worry…I’m here. The flood waters will recede, the famine will end, the sun will shine tomorrow, and I will always be here to take care of you.”
No matter how far away, I’ll be closest to heart.  |

That stays. Stays. Whoever gives you the happiness, wherever you choose to tread the path that you have decided to, you will always have the above words to stand, and me as well. Whoever I may be, wherever I may be, it doesn’t matter.

Go. Live your dreams. And know that I’m always with you, no matter what you’ve done in the past. All of you.

After everything, after passing through fire and ice, after being broken, fixed again and torn apart, there’s just one thing that I can know for sure. That the touch of all of it, is as beautiful as I’d needed, as I’d wanted. The hurt will always pull us apart, my friends, but we can never be ignored. We can never be forgotten.

As I approach my new life, there are things I will leave behind, maybe including you. But I’ll always be closest to heart. The sun will shine tomorrow, and the flood waters will recede. And I will always be here to take care of you.

After everything, when asked, is it better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all?

Yes. Yes it is.

so Dream.

Leave a comment