The Day I Stood Still

Nothing ever comes from nothing,
The same way your words when you said “I love him”
wasn’t just a normal something.
Fears and doubts laden with the hope that maybe,
Maybe there is a pathway to the laugh and creation,
Of minds and thoughts
and your heart out of station..
But no. Your smile will never be as bright,
Your chest when you sleep will never be held as tight,
I don’t care.
I don’t care for the ‘But’s and the can-nots,
Not for the secrets or the life lessons taught,
I care for the eternal,
the spring, the rain, the rainbow
Travelling on a train,
Defeating restrain.
I care for your happiness, my dear, forever as always,
and the last thing I told you was,
“You will never see the light of day”
but what I meant, what I needed to say,
was…”Forgive yourself,
and rewrite the wrongs,
It doesn’t matter if I will never listen to those songs.
Create for yourself, laugh and live,
But when that boy asks you to promise him,
that you’ll only be his…Don’t.
Be yours, and yours alone.
So then the only thing that shatters will be plates and dishes,
no more pain and strain, please keep alive the wishes.
Rainbows of new things,
each color an emotion never experienced,
Fate denied, you declaring that it doesn’t matter that you cried.
For when someday, someday well after you’ve died,
when your parents mourn their loss,
you can come back as a baby, knowing more than the last time,
that you can never measure heartbreak,
never truly understand all that’s at stake, that no matter the wreckage,
the hurt or the dread,
there is always something beautiful, beautiful to be said.
Be yours, and yours alone,
You’re beautiful, and you never have to moan.
Good night my darling, sleep well forever,
You’ll never be mine, but your memories you’ll always treasure,
sleep well. you’re okay, whenever, wherever

Leave a comment